Icon--AD-black-48x48Icon--address-consumer-data-black-48x48Icon--appointment-black-48x48Icon--back-left-black-48x48Icon--calendar-black-48x48Icon--Checkbox-checkIcon--clock-black-48x48Icon--close-black-48x48Icon--compare-black-48x48Icon--confirmation-black-48x48Icon--dealer-details-black-48x48Icon--delete-black-48x48Icon--delivery-black-48x48Icon--down-black-48x48Icon--download-black-48x48Ic-OverlayAlertIcon--externallink-black-48x48Icon-Filledforward-right_adjustedIcon--grid-view-black-48x48Icon--info-i-black-48x48Icon--Less-minimize-black-48x48Icon-FilledIcon--List-Check-blackIcon--List-Cross-blackIcon--list-view-mobile-black-48x48Icon--list-view-black-48x48Icon--More-Maximize-black-48x48Icon--my-product-black-48x48Icon--newsletter-black-48x48Icon--payment-black-48x48Icon--print-black-48x48Icon--promotion-black-48x48Icon--registration-black-48x48Icon--Reset-black-48x48share-circle1Icon--share-black-48x48Icon--shopping-cart-black-48x48Icon--start-play-black-48x48Icon--store-locator-black-48x48Ic-OverlayAlertIcon--summary-black-48x48tumblrIcon-FilledvineIc-OverlayAlertwhishlist
Bosch Connected Industry
HBM

For maximum process transparency in automotive component production

with the Nexeed Production Performance Manager

Summary

The BMW Group’s Landshut plant manufactures components and other products for the trend-setting BMW i models. The Nexeed Production Performance Manager makes sure that the manufacturing process is just as innovative as the product itself: with the help of this software solution, parameters related to cockpit production can be monitored in real time, making it possible for the cockpit and equipment technology department to establish standards for the plant-wide introduction of this Industry 4.0 solution.

For example, the maintenance staff at the punch press need all the punch pressure sensor and slide characteristic values to monitor the condition of the machine. The Nexeed Production Performance Manager not only clearly visualizes this data. Using self-configured rules, it also immediately reports any deviations, preventing unnecessary interruptions and minimizing downtimes. Moreover, the system facilitates easier scheduling of maintenance and repair work based on long-term analyses.

The successes at a glance

Continuous process transparency

Greater transparency by providing all process data and data curves for both production and process engineering to a large number of terminal devices in a user-friendly way

Bosch-IC-GesteigerteAgilität

Increased efficiency

Faster responsiveness thanks to automatic output of error messages according to predefined rules

Higher system availability

Shorter downtimes due to predictable, individually tailored maintenance and optimized intervals based on trend analyses

Background

The BMW Group’s Landshut plant is the center of expertise for electromobility and lightweight construction within the BMW Group. This is where innovative components for all vehicles, such as the BMW i models, are produced. Customers have high expectations for their vehicles: safety and quality are just as important as comfort, features and customization. The Landshut plant banks on a high level of manufacturing expertise to fulfil these demands. The Nexeed Production Performance Manager from Bosch is used to further develop the required degree of digitization.

The plant initially focused on the vehicle interior. Through greater transparency in production processes, an improved system availability and faster responsiveness in the event of process fluctuations were achieved.

Cockpit production marked the starting point of the software implementation. Together with experts from Bosch Connected Industry, software solution requirements were identified:

  • Simple live process monitoring, independent of location
  • Faster responsiveness within processes
  • Optimization of maintenance intervals for maximum system availability

The Nexeed Production Performance Manager makes it possible to meet these requirements: the solution provides more than just simple live monitoring of all relevant machine parameters and process data. By providing clear cross-machine visualizations and by recording historic data, the software also offers a prepared data basis for potential production optimization.

Solution

The Nexeed Production Performance Manager provides a systematic production improvement. The software helps staff in charge of process engineering and maintenance to make decisions quickly and easily based on easily accessible, harmonized production data. The first decision was made during a "starter kit" phase in which the cockpit production punch press was selected as the pilot system.

The system was connected to the software via the Bosch Rexroth IoT Gateway. The latter collects relevant machine data and messages and presents them in a user-friendly format. Visualization of the time required between the retraction and extension of each individual actuator is provided to the employees in charge. This information makes it possible to detect possible wear, for example by way of an increase in cycle time or load. With the help of intelligent trend analyses, the employees have better control over scheduling maintenance work and minimizing downtimes, e.g. in the case of punch knives: a broken knife would have previously resulted in an unscheduled halt in production. Now, increasing slide run times help track when a knife is becoming dull, and replacement of a knife can be scheduled for the day when it will have the least impact on production. Thanks to predefined rules, which issue automatic warnings when limit values are exceeded, potential disruptions can also be detected early on and eliminated.

The pilot system results convinced the BMW production experts: acquiring a plant license has allowed them to connect additional process steps to the software. The Nexeed Production Performance Manager is used in cockpit production for the intricate back-foaming process. While large amounts of data covering information such as pressure, flow rate, temperature and process time were generated in the control unit so far, they were not made permanently available in a higher-level system.

The Nexeed Production Performance Manager can now consolidate the data, analyze it and use it for specific optimization activities. In addition, the staff in charge of the process sequences can view the sequences live and in detail for the first time. The software uses the data to make predictions, for instance regarding wear. Now individual foaming processes (with assignment of variants, tools, mold carriers or segments) can be compared directly across any time intervals, making it possible to establish correlations between component quality and machine, process sequence, variant or batch.

Outlook

Since the Nexeed Production Performance Manager has already proven to be successful at various stations, the BMW Group has decided to implement it in additional projects: the software is currently being rolled out to identical processes within cockpit production. Other production steps, such as adhesive application, will also be connected to the software. In the long term, the Nexeed Production Performance Manager will be used not only within the vehicle interior department, but also plant-wide. Since the software can be tailored to specific requirements, it is also undergoing constant improvement in areas where it has already been deployed – for example with new rules that employees can easily define without programming knowledge.

Icon--AD-black-48x48Icon--address-consumer-data-black-48x48Icon--appointment-black-48x48Icon--back-left-black-48x48Icon--calendar-black-48x48Icon--Checkbox-checkIcon--clock-black-48x48Icon--close-black-48x48Icon--compare-black-48x48Icon--confirmation-black-48x48Icon--dealer-details-black-48x48Icon--delete-black-48x48Icon--delivery-black-48x48Icon--down-black-48x48Icon--download-black-48x48Ic-OverlayAlertIcon--externallink-black-48x48Icon-Filledforward-right_adjustedIcon--grid-view-black-48x48Icon--info-i-black-48x48Icon--Less-minimize-black-48x48Icon-FilledIcon--List-Check-blackIcon--List-Cross-blackIcon--list-view-mobile-black-48x48Icon--list-view-black-48x48Icon--More-Maximize-black-48x48Icon--my-product-black-48x48Icon--newsletter-black-48x48Icon--payment-black-48x48Icon--print-black-48x48Icon--promotion-black-48x48Icon--registration-black-48x48Icon--Reset-black-48x48share-circle1Icon--share-black-48x48Icon--shopping-cart-black-48x48Icon--start-play-black-48x48Icon--store-locator-black-48x48Ic-OverlayAlertIcon--summary-black-48x48tumblrIcon-FilledvineIc-OverlayAlertwhishlist
Bosch Connected Industry
BMW

Maximale Prozesstransparenz in der automobilen Komponentenfertigung

mit dem Nexeed Production Performance Manager

Zusammenfassung

Im BMW Group Werk Landshut werden Komponenten, unter anderem für die wegweisenden BMW i Modelle, produziert. Der Nexeed Production Performance Manager sorgt dafür, dass die Fertigung genauso innovativ ist wie das Produkt selbst: In der Cockpitproduktion lassen sich nun mit Hilfe der Software relevante Parameter in Echtzeit im Auge behalten. So setzt der Technologiebereich Cockpit und Ausstattung die Maßstäbe für die werksweite Einführung dieser Industrie 4.0-Lösung.

Bei der Stanze etwa benötigt der Instandhalter alle charakteristischen Werte der Stanzdruckgeber bzw. Schieber, um den Maschinenzustand zu überwachen. Der Nexeed Production Performance Manager visualisiert die Daten nicht nur übersichtlich, sondern meldet Abweichungen dank selbstkonfigurierter Regeln sofort. Das verhindert unnötige Ausfälle und reduziert Stillstandzeiten auf ein Minimum. Darüber hinaus ermöglicht das System, Wartungen bzw. Reparaturen auf Basis von Langzeitauswertungen besser planbar zu machen.

Die Erfolge auf einen Blick

Kontinuierliche Prozesstransparenz

Höhere Transparenz durch nutzerfreundliche Bereitstellung aller Prozessdaten und –kurven, sowohl für die Produktion als auch für die Prozesstechnik auf einer Vielzahl von Endgeräten

Bosch-IC-GesteigerteAgilität

Effizienzsteigerung

Schnellere Reaktionsfähigkeit dank automatischer Ausgabe von Fehlermeldungen nach vordefinierten Regeln

Höhere Anlagenverfügbarkeit

Kürzere Stillstandszeiten aufgrund planbarer, individueller Wartung und optimierte Wartungsintervalle durch Trendanalysen

Ausgangslage

Das BMW Group Werk Landshut ist das Kompetenzzentrum für Elektromobilität und Leichtbau der BMW Group. Hier entstehen innovative Komponenten für alle Fahrzeuge, beispielsweise die BMW i Modelle. Die Kunden haben hohe Erwartungen an ihr Automobil: Sicherheit und Qualität sind ebenso wichtig wie Komfort, Funktionen und Individualität. Diesen Ansprüchen wird im Werk Landshut insbesondere mit hoher Fertigungskompetenz Rechnung getragen. Um die dafür notwendige Digitalisierung weiter voranzubringen, kommt der Nexeed Production Performance Manager von Bosch zum Einsatz.

Dabei stand zunächst der Bereich Interieur im Vordergrund. Durch eine höhere Transparenz bei den Fertigungsprozessen sollte eine bessere Anlagenverfügbarkeit und eine schnellere Reaktionsfähigkeit bei Prozessschwankungen erreicht werden.

Die Cockpit-Fertigung markierte dabei den Startpunkt für die Implementierung der Software. Gemeinsam mit den Experten von Bosch Connected Industry wurden die Anforderungen an die neue Software-Lösung identifiziert:

  • Leichte und ortsunabhängige Live-Prozessüberwachung
  • Schneller Reaktionsfähigkeit innerhalb der Prozesse
  • Optimierung der Instandhaltungsintervalle für maximale Anlagenverfügbarkeit

Mit dem Nexeed Production Performance Manager lassen sich diese Anforderungen erfüllen: Die Lösung sorgt nicht nur für eine einfache Live-Überwachung aller relevanten Maschinenparameter und Prozessdaten. Sie stellt durch übersichtliche maschinenübergreife Darstellungen und die Aufzeichnung historischer Daten auch eine aufbereitete Datenbasis für Optimierungspotenziale in der Fertigung zur Verfügung.

Lösung

Der Nexeed Production Performance Manager sorgt für eine systematische Produktionsverbesserung. Die Software unterstützt die für Prozesstechnik und Instandhaltung verantwortlichen Mitarbeiter bei einer schnellen und einfachen Entscheidungsfindung auf Basis von leicht aufrufbaren, harmonisierten Produktionsdaten. Die Entscheidung fiel zunächst auf eine Starter Kit-Phase, in der die Stanzanlage der Cockpit-Fertigung als Pilotanlage ausgewählt wurde.

Die Anlage wurde über das IoT-Gateway von Bosch Rexroth an die Software angebunden. Dieses sammelt relevante Maschinendaten sowie -meldungen und bringt sie in eine nutzerfreundliche Darstellungsform. Die verantwortlichen Mitarbeiter bekommen die benötigte Zeit zwischen dem Ein- und Ausfahren jedes einzelnen Aktors visualisiert. Aus diesen Informationen lässt sich ein möglicher Verschleiß ableiten – beispielsweise, wenn die Zykluszeit sich verlängert oder die Last höher wird. Unterstützt durch eine intelligente Trendanalyse können die Mitarbeiter Wartungen besser einplanen und Stillstandzeiten auf ein Minimum reduzieren – beispielsweise bei den Stanzmessern: Ein Messerbruch verursachte früher einen ungeplanten Produktionsstopp. Nun kann eine abnehmende Messerschärfe über sich erhöhende Schieberlaufzeiten verfolgt und der Austausch auf den produktionstechnisch optimalsten Tag gelegt werden. Durch vordefinierbare Regeln, die automatische Warnungen bei Grenzwertüberschreitungen ausgeben, lassen sich zudem potenzielle Störungen frühzeitig erkennen und beheben.

Die Ergebnisse der Pilotanlage überzeugten die Fertigungsexperten von BMW: Mit dem Erwerb einer Werkslizenz wurden weitere Prozessschritte an die Software angebunden. In der Cockpitproduktion kommt der Nexeed Production Performance Manager beim komplexen Hinterschäumvorgang zum Einsatz. Bislang wurden während des Vorgangs zwar viele Daten wie Drücke, Durchflüsse, Temperaturen und Prozesszeiten in der Steuerung generiert, allerdings bildeten diese Werte immer nur eine Momentaufnahme und wurden nicht dauerhaft einem übergeordneten System zur Verfügung gestellt.

Mit dem Nexeed Production Performance Manager lassen sich die Daten nun konsolidieren, analysieren und für konkrete Optimierungsmaßnahmen nutzen. Zudem sind erstmalig Prozessverläufe detailliert und live für den Prozessverantwortlichen sichtbar. Aus den Daten leitet die Software Vorhersagen ab, beispielsweise zum Verschleiß. Auch der direkte Vergleich der einzelnen Schäumvorgänge (mit Varianten-, Werkzeug-, Formenträger- oder Segmentzuordnung) über beliebige Zeiträume hinweg ist jetzt möglich. So können Zusammenhänge zwischen Bauteilqualität und Maschine, Prozessablauf, Variante oder Charge hergestellt werden.

Ausblick

Da sich der Nexeed Production Performance Manager schon an diversen Stationen erfolgreich bewährt hat, entschied sich die BMW Group für weitere Implementierungsprojekte: Bei der Cockpitfertigung wird die Software momentan auf identische Prozesse ausgerollt. Auch andere Produktionsschritte, wie beispielsweise der Klebstoffauftrag, werden eingebunden. Langfristig soll der Nexeed Production Performance Manager nicht nur im Bereich Interieur, sondern werksweit zum Einsatz kommen. Da sich die Software an die individuellen Anforderungen anpassen lässt, wird sie auch an den bereits bestehenden Einsatzbereichen permanent verbessert – beispielsweise durch den Einsatz neuer Regeln, die die Mitarbeiter problemlos auch ohne Programmierkenntnisse definieren können.