Icon--AD-black-48x48Icon--address-consumer-data-black-48x48Icon--appointment-black-48x48Icon--back-left-black-48x48Icon--calendar-black-48x48Icon--Checkbox-checkIcon--clock-black-48x48Icon--close-black-48x48Icon--compare-black-48x48Icon--confirmation-black-48x48Icon--dealer-details-black-48x48Icon--delete-black-48x48Icon--delivery-black-48x48Icon--down-black-48x48Icon--download-black-48x48Ic-OverlayAlertIcon--externallink-black-48x48Icon-Filledforward-right_adjustedIcon--grid-view-black-48x48Icon--info-i-black-48x48Icon--Less-minimize-black-48x48Icon-FilledIcon--List-Check-blackIcon--List-Cross-blackIcon--list-view-mobile-black-48x48Icon--list-view-black-48x48Icon--More-Maximize-black-48x48Icon--my-product-black-48x48Icon--newsletter-black-48x48Icon--payment-black-48x48Icon--print-black-48x48Icon--promotion-black-48x48Icon--registration-black-48x48Icon--Reset-black-48x48share-circle1Icon--share-black-48x48Icon--shopping-cart-black-48x48Icon--start-play-black-48x48Icon--store-locator-black-48x48Ic-OverlayAlertIcon--summary-black-48x48tumblrIcon-FilledvineIc-OverlayAlertwhishlist
Bosch Connected Industry
HBM

HBM: greater security and efficiency for state-of-the-art calibration systems

with the Nexeed Production Performance Manager

Summary

The internationally renowned company HBM offers accurate and reliable measurement technology products and services at 30 locations worldwide. HBM always keeps up with the times to meet increasing customer demands. This is why the company has chosen, among others, the Nexeed Production Performance Manager from Bosch Connected Industry for a simple and fast digitization of its calibration laboratory.

Combined with the state-of-the-art PMX amplifier system developed in-house and its own HBM cloud for site-independent data storage, the Nexeed Production Performance Manager makes every calibration process transparent. The permanently running calibration system becomes an “open book” for process owners. Test chamber and load range data are transmitted to the software, which in turn reports faults and irregularities automatically. This improves the safety as well as the long-term efficiency of the calibration process. Downtimes can be minimized thanks to the predictive maintenance feature.

The successes at a glance

Improved system safety

Immediate notification when predefined limits are exceeded

Increased efficiency

Faster response by maintenance technicians due to automated issuance of service orders

Maximum system availability

Maximum system availability

Background

Since its establishment in 1977, the HBM calibration laboratory has been considered one of the most renowned and efficient facilities of its kind worldwide. HBM was also the first calibration laboratory ever accredited under the DKD (Deutscher Kalibrierdienst – German Calibration Service). Continuous investments in expanding production systems ensure the highest level of accuracy and the best way to satisfy growing customer demands. One key aspect of this is the digitization of production and test lab operations.

In the case of the calibration system that handles sensors up to 33 tonnes or 330 kN, the parts to be tested are subjected to tremendous forces. Efficient control and safe operation must therefore be guaranteed at all times. Moreover, mechanical defects or faults in the climate control systems due to wear or operation errors result in high costs and downtimes.

Together with the experts from Bosch Connected Industry, HBM defined the requirements for the software solution:

  • Seamless live tracking and tracing of the test processes
  • A variety of analysis and evaluation options with alarms as well as e-mail notifications sent to internal maintenance technicians
  • Trouble-free communication with all relevant components with a very brief implementation phase
  • No modification of the existing system controls (PLC)

The overriding objective was maximum system availability. The test station should operate continuously with the shortest possible maintenance and downtimes. The Nexeed Production Performance Manager fulfills these requirements: The software solution can collect and analyze data sent from the sensors. Self-configured rules are used to send alerts in the event of faults or errors. Storing and evaluating historical data in clearly arranged diagrams also makes it possible to expose areas with the potential for optimization and to improve the system's effectiveness over the long term.

Solution

To achieve a safe, efficient and continuous testing and calibration process through the connection to the Nexeed Production Performance Manager, it was necessary to examine the process in detail first. HBM chose the Starter Kit phase of the software, during which Bosch experts worked together with the responsible on-site personnel to analyze the system operating conditions. They further defined relevant positions for the installation of new measurement technology in order to record information such as temperature, humidity, inclination and vibration. In the future, camera-assisted monitoring of the test item will be added to the solution for optimum process control.

Together, Bosch and HBM looked for the right hardware and software: Large amounts of process and sensor data are merged in the in-house PMX amplifier system and transferred to the HBM measuring data acquisition software EVIDAS, which acts as an IoT edge, at a high resolution rate (several kilohertz). The data then continues to the HBM cloud storage in a compressed format and at a low transfer rate (a few hertz). The great advantage is that the data is available in the required level of detail depending on the use.

The locally available raw measured data serve the precise, AI-supported analysis, while the compressed data is transferred via the cloud to the Nexeed Production Performance Manager. There, the information is turned into instructions, warnings or visualizations for evaluation purposes. The Production Performance Management Protocol (PPMP), an open transfer protocol initiated by Bosch for Industry 4.0 applications, ensures trouble-free communication between the different components.

This offers a wide range of practical advantages: If predefined values, such as a critical temperature or period, are exceeded, the system automatically issues a warning message or sends a service order to a maintenance technician via e-mail. During the first days after commissioning, a downtime situation could already be prevented: The Nexeed Production Performance Manager reported a deviation in the tempering process, which previously could not have been detected. What’s more: Since the maintenance technician has the option to define and continually adjust complex rules, the Nexeed Production Performance Manager can detect trends in the available data indicating imminent defects or malfunctions earlier and more reliably than in the past. This makes it possible to further enhance the overall equipment effectiveness continuously and to minimize downtimes.

Outlook

Since the Nexeed Production Performance Manager proved to be the ideal solution on the first test station, HBM would like to expand the system in the coming months to cover a total of 20 test systems with different types of problems. Additionally, HBM wants to use the Nexeed Production Performance Manager for its end-to-end solutions in test technology. This will give customers the ideal combination of hardware and software to implement very easily and quickly in their existing IT infrastructure.

Together, HBM and Bosch ensure that HBM customers receive not only innovative test and measurement technology with analysis and evaluation options, but also that the technology delivers maximum performance in complex software and hardware environments within the shortest amount of time.

Icon--AD-black-48x48Icon--address-consumer-data-black-48x48Icon--appointment-black-48x48Icon--back-left-black-48x48Icon--calendar-black-48x48Icon--Checkbox-checkIcon--clock-black-48x48Icon--close-black-48x48Icon--compare-black-48x48Icon--confirmation-black-48x48Icon--dealer-details-black-48x48Icon--delete-black-48x48Icon--delivery-black-48x48Icon--down-black-48x48Icon--download-black-48x48Ic-OverlayAlertIcon--externallink-black-48x48Icon-Filledforward-right_adjustedIcon--grid-view-black-48x48Icon--info-i-black-48x48Icon--Less-minimize-black-48x48Icon-FilledIcon--List-Check-blackIcon--List-Cross-blackIcon--list-view-mobile-black-48x48Icon--list-view-black-48x48Icon--More-Maximize-black-48x48Icon--my-product-black-48x48Icon--newsletter-black-48x48Icon--payment-black-48x48Icon--print-black-48x48Icon--promotion-black-48x48Icon--registration-black-48x48Icon--Reset-black-48x48share-circle1Icon--share-black-48x48Icon--shopping-cart-black-48x48Icon--start-play-black-48x48Icon--store-locator-black-48x48Ic-OverlayAlertIcon--summary-black-48x48tumblrIcon-FilledvineIc-OverlayAlertwhishlist

Wichtige Cookie Information

Diese Webseite nutzt unbedingt erforderliche Cookies. Wenn Sie auch der Verwendung von komfortbezogenen Cookies zustimmen, klicken Sie bitte „Einverstanden“. Mit Klick auf „Ändern“ können Sie die Cookie-Einstellung jederzeit ändern und eine erteilte Einwilligung widerrufen. Weitere Informationen erhalten Sie in der Cookies Übersicht.

Bosch Connected Industry

HBM

HBM: Höhere Sicherheit und Effizienz bei hochmodernen Kalibrieranlagen

mit dem Nexeed Production Performance Manager

Zusammenfassung

Das international renommierte Unternehmen HBM bietet präzise und verlässliche Messtechnik-Produkte und Services an insgesamt 30 Standorten weltweit. Um den wachsenden Kundenanforderungen gerecht zu werden, geht HBM stets mit der Zeit. Deshalb setzt das Unternehmen für eine einfache und schnelle Digitalisierung des Kalibrierlabors unter anderem auf den Nexeed Production Performance Manager von Bosch Connected Industry.

In Verbindung mit der selbstentwickelten, hochmodernen PMX-Messverstärkersystem und der eigenen HBM-Cloud für die standortunabhängige Datenspeicherung macht der Nexeed Production Performance Manager jeden Kalibrierprozess transparent: Die im Dauerbetrieb laufende Kalibrieranlage wird so sprichwörtlich zu einem offenen Buch für den Prozessverantwortlichen. Daten aus Prüfkammer und Lastbereich werden an die Software übertragen, die wiederum automatisch Störfälle und Unregelmäßigkeiten meldet. Dies erhöht sowohl die Sicherheit als auch langfristig die Effizienz des Kalibrierprozesses. Durch die Möglichkeit einer vorrausschauenden Wartung lassen sich Stillstandzeiten auf ein Minimum reduzieren.

Die Erfolge auf einen Blick

Erhöhte Anlagensicherheit

Sofortige Benachrichtigung bei Überschreitung von vorher definierten Grenzwerten

Effizienzsteigerung

Schnellere Reaktionsfähigkeit von Wartungstechnikern durch automatisierte Ausgabe von Serviceaufträgen

Maximale Anlagenverfügbarkeit

Kürzere Stillstandzeiten aufgrund planbarer, individueller Wartung und optimierte Wartungsintervalle durch Trendanalysen

Ausgangslage

Seit seiner Gründung im Jahr 1977 zählt das HBM-Kalibrierlabor zu den renommiertesten und leistungsfähigsten Einrichtungen seiner Art – und das weltweit. HBM war zudem das erste unter dem DKD (Deutscher Kalibrierdienst) akkreditierte Kalibrierlabor überhaupt. Kontinuierliche Investitionen in die Erweiterung der Produktionsanlagen sorgen bis heute für höchste Präzision und eine bestmögliche Erfüllung wachsender Kundenanforderungen. Ein wichtiger Aspekt ist dabei die Digitalisierung von Produktion und Prüflabor.

Bei der Kalibrieranlage für Sensoren bis 33 Tonnen bzw. 330 kN werden die zu prüfenden Teile enormen Kräften ausgesetzt. Eine effiziente Bedienung und ein sicherer Betrieb müssen daher jederzeit gewährleistet sein. Defekte in der Mechanik oder den Klimatisierungssystemen aufgrund von Verschleiß oder Bedienfehlern verursachen zudem hohe Kosten und Ausfallzeiten. Diese gilt es unbedingt zu verhindern.

Gemeinsam mit den Experten von Bosch Connected Industry wurden daher die Anforderungen an die Software-Lösung identifiziert:

  • Nahtlose Live- und Nachverfolgung der Prüfprozesse
  • Verschiedene Analyse- und Auswertungsmöglichkeiten mit Alarmen sowie E-Mail-Benachrichtigungen an interne Instandhalter
  • Problemlose Kommunikation mit allen relevanten Komponenten mit sehr kurzer Implementierungsphase
  • Keine Veränderung der bestehenden Anlagensteuerung (SPS)

Übergeordnetes Ziel war eine maximale Anlagenverfügbarkeit: Die Prüfstation soll im durchgängigen Dauerbetrieb mit möglichst kurzen Wartungs- und Stillstandzeiten operieren. Der Nexeed Production Performance Manager erfüllt diese Anforderungen: Die Software-Lösung kann die von der Sensorik gesendeten Daten sammeln und analysieren. Über selbstkonfigurierte Regeln werden zudem Warnungen bei Störfällen oder Abweichungen ausgesendet. Die Speicherung und Auswertung historischer Daten in übersichtlichen Darstellungen erlaubt es zudem, Optimierungspotenziale aufzudecken und die Anlageneffektivität nachhaltig zu steigern.

Lösung

Um die Zielsetzung eines sicheren, effizienten und durchgängigen Prüf- und Kalibrierprozesses über die Anbindung an den Nexeed Production Performance Managerzu erreichen, galt es zunächst, den Prozess genau zu untersuchen. HBM entschied sich für die Starter Kit-Phase der Software, in der die Experten von Bosch zusammen mit den Verantwortlichen vor Ort die Betriebszustände der Anlage analysierten und relevante Stellen zur Installation neuer Messtechnik definierten, um beispielsweise Temperatur, Feuchtigkeit, Neigung und Vibration zu erfassen. Hinzu soll zukünftig noch eine kameraunterstützte Überwachung des Prüfstücks zur optimalen Prozesskontrolle kommen.

Gemeinsam suchten Bosch und HBM die passende Hard- und Software aus: In dem hauseigenen PMX-Messverstärkersystem zur Verarbeitung hoher Datenmengen von HBM laufen die Prozess- und Sensordaten zusammen und gelangen in hoher Auflösungsgeschwindigkeit (mehrere Kilohertz) zur HBM Messdaten-Erfassungssoftware EVIDAS, die hier als IoT-Edge agiert. In komprimierter Form und mit geringer Übertragungsgeschwindigkeit (einige Hertz) geht es dann weiter an den HBM Cloud-Speicher. Dies bietet den großen Vorteil, dass die Daten je nach Nutzung im optimalen Detailgrad vorliegen.

Die lokal verfügbaren Roh-Messdaten dienen der genauen, KI-gestützten Analyse, während die komprimierten Daten über die Cloud an den Nexeed Production Performance Manager überführt werden: Dort entstehen aus reinen Informationen nun Handlungsanweisungen, Warnungen oder aufbereitete Übersichten für Auswertungen. Für die problemlose Kommunikation zwischen den verschiedenen Komponenten sorgt das Production Performance Management Protocol (PPMP) – ein von Bosch initiiertes, offenes Übertragungsprotokoll für Industrie 4.0 Anwendungen.

In der Praxis zeigen sich die Vorteile also vielfältig: Bei einer Überschreitung vorher genau festgelegter Werte – beispielsweise einer kritischen Temperatur oder Dauer – gibt das System automatisch eine Warnmeldung heraus oder verschickt per E-Mail einen Serviceauftrag an einen Wartungstechniker. So konnte bereits in den ersten Tagen nach Inbetriebnahme des Systems ein Ausfall verhindert werden: Der Nexeed Production Performance Manager meldete eine Abweichung beim Temperiervorgang, die zuvor nicht hätte erkannt werden können. Und mehr noch: Dank der Möglichkeit für den Instandhalter, komplexe Regeln zu definieren und stetig anzupassen, kann der Nexeed Production Performance Manager Entwicklungen in der Datenlage, die auf baldige Defekte oder Ausfälle hindeuten, immer früher und zielsicherer erkennen. So lassen sich die Gesamtanlageneffektivität sukzessive weiter erhöhen und Stillstandzeiten auf ein Minimum reduzieren.

Ausblick

Da sich der Nexeed Production Performance Manager an der ersten implementierten Prüfstation optimal bewährt hat, möchte HBM das System in den kommenden Monaten auf insgesamt 20 Prüfanlagen mit verschiedenen Problemstellungen erweitern. Zudem will HBM zukünftig den Nexeed Production Performance Manager auch bei ihren End-to-End-Lösungen im Bereich Prüftechnik mit „an Bord“ nehmen: So bekommt der Kunde eine optimale Kombination aus Hard- und Software, die sich sehr einfach und schnell in seine bestehende IT-Infrastruktur implementieren lässt.

HBM und Bosch sorgen so gemeinsam dafür, dass Kunden von HBM nicht nur innovative Mess- und Prüftechnik mit Analyse- und Auswerteoptionen bekommen, sondern diese in kürzester Zeit auch in komplexen Soft- und Hardwareumgebungen eine maximale Performance zeigt.